Portion of Iowa included in Upper Mississippi River Valley Viticultural Area

This marks one of those days to celebrate local geography.

As of July 22, 2009 the Upper Mississippi River Valley Viticultural Area comes into being.  This viticultural area covers 29,914 square miles in the four states of Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Illinois.  The counties from Iowa included in this region include:  Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Scott, and Winneshiek.

Coverage by the AP/Des Moines Register 

The listing in the Federal Register that gives an outline of the area and what makes it unique with regards to growing grapes

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.